Animal and Dairy Science Scholarships and Funds

The Department of Animal and Dairy Science has a limited number of scholarships available for students majoring in either animal or dairy science.

Departmental scholarship applications are made online through the College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences. After applying for a CAES undergraduate scholarship, you will become eligible for both ADS and CAES scholarships. 

Cynthia Curtis Scholarship

Recipient must be a female with a GPA of at least 3.5 who has demonstrated leadership skills and an interest in the animal agriculture industry especially in the beef cattle industry.

Dan and Nemah Daniel Scholarship Fund

Recipient must have completed at least one semester at UGA or ABAC and have been very active in junior livestock programs.

Benjamin Forbes Fund

Recipient has traditionally been the Outstanding Senior in Dairy Science and/or President of the Dairy Science Club. Fund agreement requires the student must be a DS major and exhibit leadership skills.

Walter F. Forbes Fund

Recipient has traditionally been the Outstanding Senior in Animal Science. Fund agreement requires the student must be an AS major and leadership and club activities weighed heavily.

Georgia Dairy Memorial Fund

Two named scholarships are awarded: The Thomas H. Resseau and Louis J. Boyd (for recruiting), to outstanding dairy students.

Herbert Henderson Trust

This fund honors Professor Herbert Henderson for recruiting dairy students.

Mark A. Lea Scholarship

In honor of Mark Lea, a former student killed tragically in an automobile accident two weeks before graduation. Selection should be based on financial need and a declared interest in beef or swine production. Preference should be given to an entering freshman or transferee from a two year institution.

Emory Lynn Fund

Recipient must have a declared interest in swine production.

Robert Lowery Scholarship

Recipient must have a strong background in 4-H and/or livestock projects and demonstrated potential to be a leader and citizen in the livestock industry with a minimum GPA of 2.50 required.

S.E. Milk Dairy Check-off Scholarship

Scholarship is awarded to a dairy science student. Preference is given to students with dairy production backgrounds.

H.D. Thames Scholarship

Scholarship is awarded to a student with a demonstrated interest and involvement in dairy science.

Nesbitt-Flatt Scholarship

Award should be given to an undergraduate student (freshman, sophomore, junior, or senior) pursuing a course of study in the College. Selections shall be on the basis of merit, service, involvement in extracurricular activities such as student governance, leadership and financial need. Preference will be given to students studying animal or human nutrition, but other majors related to the food industry will be acceptable.

Willcox Livestock Judging Scholarship

Award is given to an outstanding member of the UGA Livestock Judging Team. Selection is by the livestock judging team coach in conjunction with the ADS Scholarship Committee.